0 items / £0.00


£6.00 On sale

Image of ISRAEL NASH 'Lifted' CD
  • Image of ISRAEL NASH 'Lifted' CD

Release date: 27 July 2018
Catalogue number: VJCD241

1. Rolling On (Intro)
2. Rolling On
3. Looking Glass
4. Lucky Ones
5. Sweet Springs (Intro)
6. Sweet Springs
7. SpiritFalls
8. Northwest Stars (Out of Tacoma)
9. Hillsides
10. The Widow
11. Strong Was The Night
12. Golden Fleeces

“a thing of wonder... Nash, his many voices and every credited musician on the album combine in a joyous noise you want to go on as long as one of those versions of “Caravan” Van used to do with The Caledonia Soul Orchestra, with all those high-kicking false climaxes. It ends, too soon, with the sound of a guitar being unplugged. Your response is to hit replay without even thinking about it, to listen to the whole thing again. Who can get enough of music as good as this?” 9/10

“A huge slab of cosmic country prog… A one-man country Pink Floyd” ★★★★

“Nash makes cosmic Americana his own” ★★★★

Texas’ genre-bending rock ‘n’ roller Israel Nash presents his latest long play, Lifted. It is a modern day hippie-spiritual, a tonic for those needing to put aside the mess of the daily grind. With luscious beds of strings, horns and well adorned towering walls of sound, Lifted finds Nash continuing his tradition of creating a sonic experience of feeling that is at once both vast and intimate - soaring and untamed at times, placid and sincerely personal at others.

Nash wrote and recorded Lifted with the intention of achieving a sonic experience that will elevate the listener - that the feeling of peace, love and happiness which saturates the words and music can provide the same escape he achieved while creating the LP.

Inspired by methods pioneered by John Cage, Nash randomised sounds and music and rearranged them according to the I Ching (The Book of Changes). Utilising these recording and tracking techniques help create a sonic and very present picture of Nash’s Texas Hill Country home and his life. Accompanied by his longtime band, with arrangements by Jesse Chandler (Mercury Rev, Midlake), horns by members of Austin’s cumbia/funk compadre’s Grupo Fantasma, and strings from Kelsey Wilson and Sadie Wolf of indie pop’s Wild Child, Nash, alongside co-producer and engineer Ted Young (Kurt Vile, The Rolling Stones), presents an album that soars as a masterwork of American roots songs, meticulously crafted and gently sprinkled with life meaning and multi-hued rock and psychedelia.